Show/Hide Navigation

Graphic that says JBRI Requests for Funding are open through April 8

Are you interested in receiving a donation? If your group or organization would like to receive a special allocation from the Junior Board of Rock Island, click here to visit the Request for Funding page.

thank you graphic

Annual Mardi Gras Charity Ball

The 83rd Annual Junior Board of Rock Island Mardi Gras was a fun and beautiful celebration of community and commitment to supporting and serving Quad City area children and parents. Thank you to everyone who supported us through attending the Charity Ball, purchasing raffle tickets, bidding on auction items, and making donations! The Junior Board of Rock Island will continue to carry out its mission because of your generosity!

Mardi Gras chairs Jill Iams and Erica Tholl succeeded at their vision to turn the Waterfront Convention Center into the French Quarter, complete with a parade float and Cafe Du Monde, and we’d like to thank our MC for the evening, Angie Sharp with WQAD.

Without further ado, The Junior Board of Rock Island is proud to announce our truly deserving King & Queen presiding over the evening, and their outstanding Royal Court:

king and queenKing and Queen:
Mr. Gary Rowe & Mrs. Nancy Hultquist

Our 2022 Mardi Gras Queen, Mrs. Nancy Hultquist, was born and raised in Muscatine, Iowa. She is a 1973 graduate of Muscatine High School and a 1977 graduate of Augustana College, where she earned an elementary education degree.

This year she will celebrate 45 years of marriage to her husband, Doug. Nancy and Doug have two daughters, Sarah, their oldest, was a Mardi Gras attendant in 2002, and their youngest daughter, Amy, was an attendant in 2005. Our queen has five grandchildren and is expecting their sixth grandchild in March.

She loves spending time with her husband, who retired in 2019, and their parents. The couple enjoys traveling to Texas and Tennessee to visit their children and grandchildren. She also enjoys visiting friends in her Bible Study and Bridge groups. Our queen and her husband are currently members of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Davenport.

As well as being a former member of the Junior Board of Rock Island, our queen has given generously to the community through volunteering with numerous service organizations.

Our 2022 Mardi Gras King, Mr. Gary Rowe, was born in Chicago, Illinois and raised in East Moline, Illinois.

A 1965 graduate of Alleman High School, our king went on to study at the University of Illinois with a bachelors degree in journalism and finishing his student years at University of Iowa with a Master of Arts degree in Journalism.

Mr. Rowe has been married to his wife, Linda, for 36 years.  Their son, Andy, was a page in 1987 and he and his wife Joscelyn reside in Rock Island with their daughter, Chloe.  His daughter, Alexis, was an attendant in 1992 and she and her husband Joel reside in Rock Island with their son Ben.

In our king’s free time, he enjoys traveling, attending the theatre and movies and is in an avid reader and University of Illinois sports fan.

Mr. Rowe has consistently offered his time and efforts to his community, spanning a variety of organizations, and he would like to thank his wife Linda for all her support in their community endeavors, his many mentors and teachers along the way, as well as the efforts of the Junior Board of Rock Island.

Crown Bearers:
Marley Emily DeSmyter is the daughter of Michelle and Matt DeSmyter and attends Seton Catholic Elementary School.
Caiden Joseph Requet is the son of Lisa and Dave Requet and attends Andalusia Elementary School.

Elijah Andrew Boeye is the son of Marji and Pryce Boeye, and attends Rock Island High School.
Pearce Nelson Lelonek is the son of Kathy and Robert Lelonek, and attends Rock Island High School.
Alec Michel O’Brien Noyd is the son of Stephanie and Travis Noyd, and attends Orion High School.
Storm Michael Stern is the son of Yumi and Matt Stern, and attends Illinois Math and Science Academy.

Caroline Kinsey Adams is the daughter of Johnna and Tim Adam, and attends University of Michigan Ann Arbor.
Eleanor Frances Blew is the daughter of Michele and Bryan Blew, and attends Illinois Wesleyan University.
Ella Dale Darrow is the daughter of the Honorable Sara Darrow and the Honorable Clarence M. Darrow, and attends the University of Notre Dame.
Katherine Elizabeth Gass is the daughter of Kim and David Gass, and attends Moline High School.
Campbell Kennedy Gustafson is the daughter of Susie and Brian Gustafson, and attends Alleman High School.
Savana Marie Herron is the daughter of Susie and Lanny Herron, and attends Alleman High School.
Taylor Marie-Liubov Hodge is the daughter of Lara and Gary Hodge, and attends Assumption High School.
Kacie Rae Roburt Knary is the daughter of Felicia and Kraigg Knary, and attends Moline High School.
Abigail Rose Miller is the daughter of Gina and John Miller, and attends Alleman High School.
Lyric Kay Nolin is the daughter of Jennifer and Pat Hartmann, and Corey Nolin, and attends University of Iowa REACH Program.
Natalie Kristine Richmiller is the daughter of Shannon and the late Timothy Richmiller, and attends Pleasant Valley High School.
Maya Elizabeth Sierra is the daughter of Laura and Erin Sierra, and attends United Township High School.
Anne M VanDeHeede is the daughter of Lynn and Jim VanDeHeede, and attends Alleman High School.
Reese Katherine Williams is the daughter of Erica and Brian Williams, and attends United Township High School.


2022 Mardi Gras logo